Skip directly to content

First SWSA Ten-Year Award Announced

on Tue, 10/25/2011 - 00:00

October 25, 2011. Bonn, Germany

The SWSA Ten-Year Award recognizes the highest impact paper from the ISWC proceedings ten years prior (i.e., in 2011 we honor a paper from 2001). The decision is based primarily, but not exclusively, on the number of citations to the papers from the proceedings in the intervening decade.

SWSA awarded the first Ten-Year Award at the Tenth International Semantic Web Conference in Bonn, Germany, on October 25, 2011. This award was based on the proceedings of the Semantic Web Working Symposium at Stanford University in 2001. This meeting was the pre-cursor to the ISWC conference series. The authors of the following paper from the Semantic Web Working Symposium became the recipient of the SWSA Ten-Year Award in 2011:

Anupriya Ankolekar, Mark H. Burstein, Jerry R. Hobbs, Ora Lassila, David L. Martin, Sheila A. McIlraith, Srini Narayanan, Massimo Paolucci, Terry R. Payne, Katia P. Sycara, Honglei Zeng
"DAML-S: Semantic Markup for Web Services"

This paper defined a de facto standard for the description of services on the Semantic Web and influenced a large number of projects including both research and later standards efforts.

The authors of the winning paper used the prize to sponsor a Semantic Web Services Distinguished Student Travel Grant. It is s travel grant in the amount of $US 1000, given to an ISWC 2012 student author in recognition of their contributions to the advancement of research relating to Semantic Web Services.

The recepient of the grant is

Mohsen Taheriyan, PhD student, Computer Science Department, University of Southern California, USA

Mohsen receives the award for his co-authored paper:

 "Rapidly Integrating Services into the Linked Data Cloud," by Mohsen Taheriyan, Craig Knoblock, Pedro Szekely and José Luis Ambite, which appears in the Research Track of ISWC 2012.

- Slides from the presentation by David Martin accepting the 10-year award.